Today on the occasion of Gudi Padwa, Maharashtrian New Year, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray along with Dy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar flagged off the two new Mumbai Metros – Line 7 & 2 A, both in the western suburbs.

Present along were Environment and Tourism Minister Aditya Thackeray and Eknath Shinde along with MMRDA Commissioner SVR Srinivas and other dignitaries.

This is Phase 1 of the stretch between Line 7 of 33.50 km with 29 stations and Line 2A of 18 km with 17 stations en enroute.

Phase 1 would be between Line 7 from Aarey (Goregaon) to Dahisar East and Line 2A from Dahisar to Dhanukarvadi (Kandivali). The two new lines shall start operations daily 5am to 11pm from Sunday to commuters. These trains are designed for driverless operations along with communication based train control (CBTC) signalling systems, however, in the initial phase the trains will manned by driver attendants, later the system will be upgraded to unmanned train operation. Over 2250 passengers can travel on a train at a time.

Line: 2A Stations: (Yellow Line)

Dahisar East, Upper Dahisar Station (Anand Nagar), Kandarpada (Rushi Sankul), Mandapeshwar (IC Colony), Eksar, Borivali West (Don Bosco), Pahadi Eksar (Shimpoli, then Shimpawali), Kandivali West (Mahavir Nagar), Dahanukarwadi (Kamraj Nagar), Valnai (Charkop), Malad West, Lower Malad (Kasturi Park), Pahadi Goregaon (Bangur Nagar), Goregaon West, Oshiwara (Adarsh Nagar), Lower Oshiwara (Shastri Nagar) and Andheri West (D.N. Nagar).

Line 7 Stations : (Red Line)

Stations: Dahisar East, Ovaripada, National Park, Devipada, Magathane, Poisar (formerly Mahindra & Mahindra), Akurli (formerly Bandongri), Kurar (formerly Pushpa Park), Dindoshi (formerly Pathanwadi), Aarey, Goregaon E (formerly Mahanand), Jogeshwari E (formerly JVLR Junction), Shankarwadi, Gundavali (formerly Andheri East)

Metro Fares:

0-3 kms: Rs 10

3-12 km: Rs 20

12-18 km: Rs 30

18-24: Rs 40

24-30: Rs 50